Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Chicago VFR Corridor

Chicago VFR Corridor

Hey guys. I am heading to Oshkosh this year in my Champ and I've got a question for anyone who flies the VFR lakeshore corridor through Chicago.

My my champ does not have an electrical system. Therefore, according to FAR 91.215(b)(3) I can go through there VFR without a transponder. Have any of you done this though? My concern is that even though I know it's legal, the guy in the tracon may not remember that and stir up trouble. I had a similar issue with Toledo once.

i do have a pretty good hand held radio and have no qualms about calling Chicago approach.

I am an ATP rated pilot and frequently fly into Chicago airspace but that's always in a go-fast airplane with two transponders. I need some advice from someone who's gone without any bells or whistles.

Thanks in advance.

I made an error is phraseology in my last post, there is no VFR Corridor but rather the lakeshore route under the Class B airspace of ORD. Question still applies.

"The guy in tracon" is likely the least of your concerns. The lakeshore route has always been very busy and a recent change has compressed its two-way traffic even more. Since February 6th of this year the RNAV approaches for RWY 22 at Midway (MDW) allow jet traffic between 3,000' and 2,400' over the lake shore. With prevailing southwest winds, those approaches are in common use. The jet wingtip vortices are not constrained to stay at those altitudes. The new upper limit for the VFR flyway south of Navy Pier is 2,000'. Lake Michigan is at 580', leaving very little vertical separation for the intensive traffic in that area. A transponder could help you show up on the traffic displays of other, likely much faster VFR traffic.
    I love Champs, but that airspace isn't where I'd choose to fly one, especially without a transponder. But it's your call...
    -Fred Stadler