Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Handheld GPS - Which to get?

Handheld GPS - Which to get?

First time poster, long time reader.

I'm now considering buying a portable GPS but having difficulty assessing the right option. I'm a VFR pilot and do most of my flying in class G,E,D airspace, occasionally in C when into Fresno. Right now I'm still honing my VFR skills but would like to obtain IFR certification within the next year. I don't need anything extravagant but also would like to "grow into" a gps device that has more capabilities. Never flown with ADS-B systems either and with the FAA projected changes in the future would I be wise to get a system compatible with it?

Thanks.

One of the growth problems of gps has been the change in features and buttonpushing sequence among different units, even growth versions from the same manufacturer. With your goal of transference into an ifr unit, look ahead to what you'll be using and seek a portable to emulate that. For example, a friend who's been using the garmin pilot app on his ipad and iphone reports the garmin touchscreen panel mount in his buddy's arrow has the same button push sequences. garmin also offers that app for android, and a 30day trial is free. Perhaps you have a compatible device already to try it out. contact garmin customer support, maybe they could be more informative about degree of compatibility than "buddyaminesez ".

There's no such thing as an IFR handheld. An iPad and to a lesser extent the other tablets let you get multiple software at multiple levels. I've been a foreflight user for years and it's handy having real sectionals and runway diagrams (and when you're ready for them IFR Enroutes and Plates) there at your fingertips. Pretty reasonable thing for flight planning. You can add on in flight weather, etc.... if you want that or you can just use the internet on the ground to retrieve stuff for planning purposes.