Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Buying a Plane?

Buying a Plane?

I found an airplane, put a deposit on it, and after the annual I will give the seller the rest of the money and fly it home!

So having bought it, I paid for the title search service from AOPA. But now I'm not sure how to use the information since I have no experience buying a plane.

The current owner is listed as an LLC business. So how do I know that when I pay for it, I'm giving the money to the right person? Do airplanes have titles just like cars where we both sign it and I take the title with me?

Can anyone please explain the buying process? Thank you!
    Mark

2003 RANS S-10
    2011 RANS S-6S
    Zenith Cruzer

www.aircraftstickers.com Very cool aircraft stickers. Vans, RANS, Kitfox...more!

If not to late, use AIC Title via AOPA for the whole transaction.
    They can deal with the escrow, title changes, register the bill of sale. All of it, and the fees are rather minimal.

Tim

Quote Originally Posted by s10sakota View Post
    I found an airplane, put a deposit on it, and after the annual I will give the seller the rest of the money and fly it home!

So having bought it, I paid for the title search service from AOPA. But now I'm not sure how to use the information since I have no experience buying a plane.

The current owner is listed as an LLC business. So how do I know that when I pay for it, I'm giving the money to the right person? Do airplanes have titles just like cars where we both sign it and I take the title with me?

Can anyone please explain the buying process? Thank you!
    The Aircraft Bill of Sale executed on AC Form 8050-2 is your evidence that the aircraft belongs to you. (Make sure you have some of these forms, call the East MI FSDO and have them mail some to you tomorrow).