Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Another way to honor Paul at Oshkosh 2014

Another way to honor Paul at Oshkosh 2014

I've only been a member a short time (since 2005).

I thought of this post as I was reading about cigarette butts and how all these newbies are ruining the show by letting their kids jump all over our planes, and thought about "Oshkosh Rules." As a relative newbie, I've never seen them posted, but understand the basics.

How about if this year we each make an honest effort to re-emphasize Oshkosh Rules? As in, getting word out to all the members. Maybe a few signs around - nothing "in your face" but just something simple like, "Remember Oshkosh Rules". Maybe if we all acted like Protect Our Planes volunteers, or stooped over to pick up trash again (not that some of us ever stopped), and try to educate the irregular members (as opposed to regular) on the impacts of their actions.

I think Paul would really appreciate this action.

Carl Orton
    Sonex #1170 / Zenith 750 Cruzer
    http://mykitlog.com/corton

Excellent suggestion Carl! It'd make a poignant tee shirt also....
    Robbie Culver
    Sonex #1517
    Taildragger
    AeroVee
    Currently working on the wings
    Chicagoland

Excellent idea. A little self awareness goes WAY farther than any rule.

Hmmm… Would I wear T-shirt that says "Remember Oshkosh Rules" ? Maybe. My wife, who is very into that kind of stuff, being a Librarian, said she would probably not. The signs are good. I would be very willing to have such a sign right next to the placard describing my airplane. We also need to make the rules available.