Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Piper Completes Flight Tests of Archer Fueled by 93 Octane

Post Piper Completes Flight Tests of Archer Fueled by 93 Octane

Big news out of Florida, as Piper Aircraft has announced that they successfully completed the first flight of one of its Archer aircraft using 93 octane premium unleaded automotive gasoline. Here is a link to the official announcement: http://tinyurl.com/ls74hv4

Does your closest FBO offer 93 octane already? Check it out here: http://www.globalair.com/airport/

Doesn't seem like it should be a big surprise here.

I've been running on auto fuel for 20 years. These 1930 technology engines don't really care what they burn.
    We used to have an old tractor that started on gas and then chugged away all day on diesel fuel. Low compression and spark plugs.

Heres the funny part. In the non-aviation engine design world, we wish that all gasoline was along the lines of 100LL or slightly lower octane UL version, and that we werent stuck with this variable garbage called auto-fuel. All the constantly varying chemistry that may be fine one month, but next month is destroying fuel system parts, or knocking a high output engine to death. In all seriousness, the GA community has no idea how LUCKY they are to have something as nice as 100LL.

Yea... How lucky we are to pay $6.00+ a gallon for AV gas, vs. $3-4+ a gallon...
    It adds up really quick, for those of us with shallow pockets, trying to escape the bonds of earth, once in a while.
    Yea, how lucky we all are...

Quote Originally Posted by I_FLY_LOW View Post
    Yea... How lucky we are to pay $6.00+ a gallon for AV gas, vs. $3-4+ a gallon...
    It adds up really quick, for those of us with shallow pockets, trying to escape the bonds of earth, once in a while.
    Yea, how lucky we all are...