Thread: Composite Spec'ing

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Composite Spec'ing

Does anyone know a good introductory to intermediate-level source of information on how to choose particular composite materials (as in the specific brand and model of fabric, epoxy, etc) for specific applications?

AviationSpruce or Wicke's?

I am looking for stuff more technically oriented than what they have to offer or more so how to interpret things that are more technically oriented than what they have to offer since the decision is coming down not "Do I use Kevlar or E-Glass here?" but to "What grade/type/etc of carbon fiber do I want for this particular application?". I have a lot of the technical specs for things but I have little specific experience in these particular aspects (my area of knowledge is injury biomechanics, not materials science at this level).

Steve - take the Sportair composite workshop at IUPUI (or Versailles or whatever they are calling it now, on the north side of the big airport) next time they have it

I took it several years ago, it was taught by an engineer that worked for Rutan (cant remember his name off the top of my head) & Troy Grover from Danville / Avon helped out some, pretty good, I learned a lot & it convinced me I did NOT want to use fiberglass composite construction for the structure on my project...

My project will look a lot like a Long EZ but it will be tube & fabric......

Steve - take the Sportair composite workshop at IUPUI (or Versailles or whatever they are calling it now, on the north side of the big airport) next time they have it
    Oh, the Vincennes University "campus" up here? LOL

I took it several years ago, it was taught by an engineer that worked for Rutan (cant remember his name off the top of my head) & Troy Grover from Danville / Avon helped out some
    Ah....OK. I think I have met Troy before.