Thread: FAA to Keep Contract Towers Open

FAA to Keep Contract Towers Open

Heard just now, Federal contract towers to stay open through September 30th, 2013.
    Glenn Brasch
    KRYN Tucson, Arizona
    2013 RV-9A
    Medevac helicopter pilot (Ret)
    EAA member since 1980
    Owner, "Airport Courtesy Cars" website.
    www.airportcourtesycars.com
    Volunteer Mentor www.SoAZTeenAviation.org

What a surprise. Happens to coincide with the end of the fiscal year, so the money was already budgeted and there would be breach of contract suits if gummint canceled now. Or not. I am not a lawyer. Just a skeptic.

part of the deal congress made to stop ATC delays allowed the FAA to rob from the airport improvement fund to keep sleepy unnecessary towers open too. AOPA celebrated the move.

I think this is good news. Now perhaps they can look at closing individual towers that are truly not needed by actually looking at statistics and only closing a tower if it truly is no longer needed based on actual use.
    States visited with my Piper Challenger

i applaud your optimism.

I'm conflicted on the tower closures, mostly due to local bias. Here at KFMN we have an absolutely useless contract tower that's paid for mostly with municipal funds. On one hand, being one of the people that gets the most "use" out of the ATC, I'm usually all for any expansion and development in aviation, but feel much differently about tower closures then is the current AOPA standpoint.