Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: GA and the TSA.

GA and the TSA.

There has been a question I've been wondering over for some time, and that is; Do GA pilots have to ever go through the same TSA ritual as the commercial passenger? Forgive me if this is a stupid question as I am at "ground school" stage and I've never been on a commercial flight. Now I know thaf at least in some cases this is not the case: at nearby LYH one could go though the commercial terminal which has TSA, or one could go through one of several FBO's where one experiences the perfect level of TSA scrutiny (which is zero). But LYH is a relatively small commercial airport. So what if I wanted to go to Chicago O'Hare? Now I know that that would hardly be necessary---as a GA pilot I would typically have better options. But what if I did land at O'Hare? Could I theoretically find a FBO where I need not go through TSA? Thanks for your input!
    Last edited by WingsAloft; 05-06-2013 at 08:11 PM.
    *** Life is Lead Points and Habit Patterns ***

Incidently, if one could reliably avoid TSA by flying privately, then this would explain the apathy on the part of the decision/political class (has it come to that?) toward the misery inflicted on the masses.

My understanding is that big hubs like O'hare, Atlanta, LAX and so on frown on the little guys in their airspace. It comes down to speed. While a guy in a Skylane is on final at 70 knots or so, the 757 behind him is "loping" along at 140 knots. I would think a very experienced GA pilot could work through it. Also, it's my understanding that in order for an occaisional hop into high density air space, you have to get a reservation of sorts to get you into the airspace.

And if you happen to make a trip to Canada, you have to land at an airport that has a customs greeting committee to get you cleared. At any rate, I would think that it would be wise to keep to non-towered, class C or D airports.

David