Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Need advice on getting a&p

Need advice on getting a&p

I am not sure who will see this if any but is there any way I could find some mechanics looking for an apprentice/ helper? I am currently looking at getting my A&P but I don't have the time or the money to do it through a school. I am a student pilot with a decent amount of mechanical knowledge and a quick learner with machinery/vehiclesMy location is Neenah Wisconsin right near brennand airport

that's a hard route to go. It also takes a long time. Have you looked up the requirements in the FAR's for how many hours you are required to get? It's a lot and will take years. Your going to have to keep track of everything you do end up doing in a good logbook.

Quote Originally Posted by uavmx View Post
    that's a hard route to go. It also takes a long time. Have you looked up the requirements in the FAR's for how many hours you are required to get? It's a lot and will take years. Your going to have to keep track of everything you do end up doing in a good logbook.
    Yeah I realize that, it's not something I want to do for a job right away,i just want a sort of "kick off" and some experience.

Assuming that you don't want to leave your area, then you just have to go start slumming around the airports in your home town. Start asking to help. Again, just track everything you do in a logbook.

If you build an airplane, the hours spent on each assembly and subsystem count towards your A&P training if you document those hours and the topics. I know an individual who built 4 airplanes and the FAA accepted the record of tasks completed to approve his taking the A&P practical exam.

And he won an award for workmanship at OSH with one airplane and he campaigned the Pitts he built to the IAC Advanced Championship. Not bad checkpoints along the way to his A&P certificate.

Best of luck,

Wes
    N78PS