Thread: Volunteering on the flight line

Volunteering on the flight line

Hello. I had a few questions about volunteering for the flight line at Airventure. What type of work do you do exactly, and where primarily do you work? How long is the normal shift? I would assume that the flight line would get booked for volunteers very quickly, so when does that usually happen? I contacted the master mind behind this operation (can't remember his name), but he gave me a really vague answer that didn't really answer my question. I will be arriving at Oshkosh either late Friday (20th) or early Saturday, so I hope that is early enough for me to get a spot. Thanks for all your help!

Agent:

I've only volunteered a few times, so I'm no expert at all the subtleties of it, but I do have *some* actual experience.

There's two parts: The south end (I've never worked that), and the North 40 FLO. If you hike all the way north past warbirds, and continue across the grass, you'll see a building relatively close to 9/27 (not close, but closer than the other stuff). That's the North 40 FLO building. Go in there and tell them you'd like to volunteer.

You then register on the computer, and watch a video about how to work flight ops. You then sign up for a shift and show up.

There are two task areas: Parking and flight line. You work in a crew of 5-6 others in the parking crew; basically, if someone pulls off the taxiway and into the parking area, a guy on a scooter directs them to the row being worked. The crew then marshalls them in, and helps push it tail-first if it's a fill-in operation. You then welcome the pilot to Oshkosh and help answer questions.