Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hand Proping C-65

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Hand Proping C-65

I'm not sure whether to post this in here or in the maintained thread, so if the community thinks of a better place to put this post, please move it.

I'm currently giving instruction in a Aeronca 11AC Chief that has no electrical system and a C-65 that's been upgraded to 75 hp. I've got a lot of experience hand propping, but most of it is on the Lycoming 0-290 and 0-320, so I have some questions.

The C-65 as I said has been rebuild recently (about 50 hrs ago) and upgraded to 75 hp. It also has a primer and the old style "shoe box" mags with no shower of sparks or impulse coupling.

My normal cold starting procedure has been:
    1 shot of primer
    Throttle closed
    Pull the prop through 2 times, mags cold
    Contact

And it USUALLY starts on the 3rd or 4th blade. More about the usually later.
    With the throttle closed, the engine idles around 500-600 rpm.

Question 1.)
    What is a good cold start procedure for this engine?

Hot start:
    No prime
    Throttle Half
    Contact
    As soon as it fires, 800 to 1000 rpm (requires two people for sure)

This usually takes a while, but everything else I've tried usually floods the engine.

Question 2.)
    What is a good hot start procedure for this engine and what do you consider a "hot start."