Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Sun n Fun Camping

Sun n Fun Camping

Since rooms are so hard to get in Lakeland around Sun n Fun, I thought it might be fun to camp next to my plane. I have never done this before at Sun n Fun or Oshkosh. Any suggestions from those of you with experience is appreciated. If it goes well at Lakeland I'll probably camp at Oshkosh too. I have read the camping information on the Sun n Fun and AirVenture websites. Besides tent, air mattress, sleeping bag, snacks and lights, what else do you recommend?

Ear plugs, bug spray, sunscreen, a hat, a couple of camp chairs, and a portable shade if you have one.

You mentioned a tent. You want a GOOD tent - not one from Wally-world. At both SnF and OSH, you're liable to have a big storm at one time or another. Good tents will keep their shape and won't leak badly under those conditions. A cheap tent probably will.

Camping under the wing is great - enjoy.

Thanks Kyle! I don't have a portable shade, otherwise I'm adding the other items to my checklist.

Quote Originally Posted by Kyle Boatright View Post
    Ear plugs, bug spray, sunscreen, a hat, a couple of camp chairs, and a portable shade if you have one.

You mentioned a tent. You want a GOOD tent - not one from Wally-world. At both SnF and OSH, you're liable to have a big storm at one time or another. Good tents will keep their shape and won't leak badly under those conditions. A cheap tent probably will.

Camping under the wing is great - enjoy.

At OSH, you're not liable to have a gully washer. You WILL, at least one night have a good dose of rain. Been going for 10 years now and it hasn't missed a night yet.

Marshall Alexander

One more comment. Get a good set of tie-downs. During a 2AM thunderstorm, you can hear your airplane creaking and groaning due to the wind gusts. You'll sleep better if you know your airplane is gonna stay where you put it.