Thread: 3 in 2 ?

Question 3 in 2 ?

Hello all!

I'm new to the world of EAA.

I have one simple question.

If I own/build/operate an experimental aircraft (e.g. - Ch701, Sonex, etc...) can I put 3 people in a two seater?

Example: Pilot weighs 185lbs. Passenger weighs 120lbs and kid sitting on passenger's lap weighs <60lbs.

The "extra" passenger in question would be wearing some form of "harness" that would attach to either the passenger (tandem) or the aircraft itself.

Thanks!

Quote Originally Posted by CaptainCaveMan View Post
    Hello all!

I'm new to the world of EAA.

The "extra" passenger in question would be wearing some form of "harness" that would attach to either the passenger (tandem) or the aircraft itself.

Thanks!
    not meaning to come across as a smart-aleck, but you ought to go back and bonk your cfi for letting you get by without learning:

Title 14: Aeronautics and Space§ 91.107 Use of safety belts, shoulder harnesses, and child restraint systems.

http://ecfr.gpoaccess.gov/cgi/t/text/text-idx?c=ecfr&sid=b3037f8ea3bcf93a80a402cb539387d3&rg n=div8&view=text&node=14:2.0.1.3.10.2.4.4&idno=14

... each person on board a U.S.-registered civil aircraft must occupy an approved seat or berth with a safety belt ... (or) be held by an adult who is occupying an approved seat or berth, provided that the person being held has not reached his or her second birthday and does not occupy or use any restraining device...

i won't even get into who approves the seats and belts in an experimental aircraft. the intent of the regulation is pretty clear.