Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: $6 avgas letter

Seerjfly

$6 avgas letter

$6 avgas, I love it.
    Last edited by Seerjfly; 12-31-2011 at 09:28 AM. Reason: more positive

I hope it's not over... heck, I'm just getting started. I recently (2009) hung up my remote control airplanes in order to start on my first project... a Pietenpol Air Camper. While I do enjoy R/C, and hope to make time for it again in the future (mostly for my son's benefit), I hope it isn't because I can't afford to fly my Piet. It is hard enough to stay motivated at times, especially during the cold months... I'd hate to think that my years of work will just make for a nice static display because of govt. and environmentalist regulations/expense.

Seerjfly
    Last edited by Seerjfly; 12-31-2011 at 07:51 AM. Reason: i quit

I'm not giving up... just seems that fuel cost is the primary variable in our sport, and regardless of the type of aircraft a 50% increase is a 50% increase. I may only burn 5-6gph, but I will notice as we go from $5gal towards $7.50gal, or whatever it ends up being during my flying lifetime. Not much I can do about it (except vote)... I will continue to work on my project, but this is one of the reasons that people can't (or won't) afford to learn to fly or continue to fly, and it also makes it hard to recruit those that may be interested in flying to EAA. I know several people my age (late 30s) that are licensed who just don't participate in aviation anymore... cost is the primary factor. I'm sure that we all know people like that, but as a younger member and chapter leader/organizer, I'm finding it difficult to figure out how to encourage people to get involved. No matter how we approach the subject, we eventually get to the topic of cost, which is normally more than most are willing to budget in.