PDA

View Full Version : OPERATION PHOENIX JR. Phase 1- Hirth motor identification

Backcountrydrifter
03-19-2018, 12:53 PM
Hello all! This is my first time posting so I will give a little introduction and background. My name is Ben and I am a professional pilot, paraglider, and A&P. But I only work on my own aircraft. Perpetual student and a sponge for knowledge. Certified MIG and TIG welder with a pretty extensive history in metal fabrication.

By some strange coincidence I have acquired all of the makings of a (likely) very bad, but very fun idea. Through a series of horse trades I have acquired a Hirth 650cc engine and direct drive cast aluminium propellor. 1974 vintage from what I can tell. I was told by the previous owner that it came from the CAF museum in Heber Utah. After a bit of research I believe it was the very first of the ultralight engines that Hirth made. The numbers don’t cross reference with the snowmobile world. And 1 plug per cylinder, and a direct drive prop make me believe it was an early model before they upped their game to become an ultralight and UAV supplier. A call to Their North American distributor informed me that they have no idea what engine I have.

I also acquired a airworthy hang glider wing and a small 2 man flycraft raft. So after a few too many long nights looking around the hangar, I am pretty convinced I have everything I need to make “OPERATION PHOENIX” a go.