PDA

View Full Version : FAA Part 103.15 Congested areas?

TinmanJones
02-22-2018, 11:14 AM
FAA 103.15 Operations over congested areas.
No person may operate an ultralight vehicle over any congested area of a city, town, or settlement, or over any open air assembly of persons.

Let me start by saying I’m new to Ultralight’s. Not new to flying, as I’ve been flying Cessna’s as part of obtaining my Private Pilots License.
I’ve read the FAA 103 rules & had a question about “congested areas”. What is their (the FAA) definition of a congested area of a city, town, or settlement?
My home airport is very close to our towns “Downtown” area. On Final you are flying right over downtown & over a neighborhood. The end of that runway is separated from a neighborhood street by a fence.
This airport houses our local EAA chapter & has had UL traffic now for over 40 years. So, I’m assuming our town isn’t a congested area or this would’ve already been an issue.
I’m just curious how you all view this 103.15 rule.
Thanks for any clarity.

Dana
02-22-2018, 11:45 AM
The short answer is it's whatever the FAA says it is.

It's not defined anywhere, the FAA has said it's defined on a "case by case" basis... i.e. if you annoy somebody.

If you avoid flying over towns, always fly high enough to glide to a landing in an area that's clearly not "congested", and you fly high enough that nobody on the ground will perceive you as a threat, you'll probably be fine.

For more detail, see http://www.footflyer.com/PPGBibleUpdates/Chapter08/congested.htm.

martymayes
02-22-2018, 12:01 PM
I’ve read the FAA 103 rules & had a question about “congested areas”. What is their (the FAA) definition of a congested area of a city, town, or settlement?

"We'll know it when we see it"

This airport houses our local EAA chapter & has had UL traffic now for over 40 years. So, I’m assuming our town isn’t a congested area or this would’ve already been an issue.