PDA

View Full Version : Accounting Software

kk6mm
11-16-2011, 11:29 PM
Hi-Our chapter is looking for a program to computerize our finances. We have income from dinners, an annual aviation event, memberships, donations, etc. Our expenses include a lease, utilities, supplies, etc. We have checking and savings accounts. We'd like something that would enable us to categorize income and expenses, ie: donations for Young Eagles events, money spent and received from dinners, etc. Thanks for an help.

Anymouse
11-17-2011, 03:15 AM
Your best bet is probably Quickbooks. You may be able to get away with a standard version of Quicken though.

bookmaker
11-17-2011, 06:36 AM
I am a CPA and deal with a lot of software. Do yourself a favor and stay away from Quicken. Go with Quick Books at least. Quicken is OK if you just want to track your check book, but if you want to produce any kind of decent historical records, it is not the way to go.

Also, if you are not familiar with the bookkeeping process and computer accounting products, take a class on the software use at your local community college, or get someone who has good experience with that software to help get started and use to using it. Even the best accounting software can be extremely confusing to learn.

Trust me, I make a lot of money straightening out clients attempts to post their own books without some kind of training.

Dale

Mike Switzer
11-17-2011, 08:04 AM
The accountant for one of our businesses chose Quickbooks - I absolutely HATE it. (Quicken would be even worse)

I use an old version of MS Money for my engineering business & farm, while not perfect, it works OK, but Microsoft discontinued the product & no longer supports it.

I believe the treasurer for our flying club is using something from Peachtree, which he also uses for his business, he says it is better than Quickbooks.