PDA

View Full Version : Modeling Tubular Frame

RCS
06-15-2017, 01:48 AM
I'm wanting to build an accurate model of the tubular frame structure of my plane - essentially reverse engineer what already exists. The Solidworks version that is available for EAA members does not seem to include the "tubing" module. My questions are: does the SW tubing module make this work substantially easier? Any tips on how to proceed without this module? I have some pretty good experience using the basic feature set, but never tackled a tubing project. Any and all help is much appreciated!

cwilliamrose
06-15-2017, 10:04 AM
Are you saying the Insert|Weldments|Structural Member... menu item and the Weldments toolbar are not there in the EAA version? That would be a huge surprise. I don't have my laptop with me but I can look at my EAA SWx install when I get home.

lathropdad
06-15-2017, 03:42 PM
The Weldment features will be there. But you have to add the tube sizes you are using.

The weldment feature is great for doing tube structures and you can make accurate templates of the mitered joints in a tube structure.

cwilliamrose
06-15-2017, 05:01 PM
You can download almost all the tubing sizes you'll ever need from VR3's website (http://vr3.ca/documents/VR3Weldments.zip). And if you follow their guidelines you can send them your model and get them to do the tube fitting for you.

RCS
06-18-2017, 01:55 PM