PDA

View Full Version : Ultralight aluminum tube structure bolt and hole clearances.

Steve K
04-05-2015, 07:21 PM
I have a typical sail cloth over aluminum tube structure ultralight that has quite a bit of "slop" in all the bolted members. AC43.13 stipulates much closer fit than this structure exhibits. But I've been told several conflicting things about bolt clearances on part 103 or similar structure LSA. i have no prior experience with this type of aircraft structure. All my previous Plane projects have been in wood with 4130 bolt on fittings etc. or helping others with their all aluminum monocoque structures. Any one that can give me the scoop on proper safe bolt hole clearances in such structures, I would be very appreciative.

Steve

Don January
04-05-2015, 09:23 PM
I cant help with the clearance legalities but can you drill the holes out to allow bushing's cut to lenght to fit the tube and have the ID of the bushing's sized to slip fit your bolt's? sorry could'nt help much

Bill Berson
04-05-2015, 09:33 PM
I would say it depends on the particular part. A spar held rigid with tension cables might allow some clearance and easy assembly.
A sloppy elevator torsion spar connection would not be good.
Check if the size is from wear or just normal manufacture tolerance. An oval shape indicates wear.

Dana
04-06-2015, 04:57 AM
AC43.13 really doesn't apply to this sort of structure. Your best bet, if possible, is to contact the manufacturer. If it's worn, it's usually possible to drill the holes out for the next size larger bolt. Another solution for a worn hole is to rivet a sleeve inside or outside the tube and redrill through the sleeve.

Steve K
05-04-2015, 02:46 PM