PDA

View Full Version : Replacing wing coverings

kenkal
04-03-2015, 08:39 PM
Recently purchased an Ercoupe 415-C. The wing covering is now @ 30 years old, discolored white (insignia white?). The fabric seems very good even after all this time as the plane was hangered and unattended for many years. Wishing to deep clean the wings and/or to repaint the wings without removing the fabric. Happy to receive any advice as i am a novice owner after renting up to this time. My coupe was recently annualed and all seems structually good.

Thanks,

Al

Don January
04-03-2015, 08:46 PM
I personally would give the plane a detailed cleaning and hand work all the areas. sometimes you feel things you can't see. plus beings it's your own plane it gives you a chance to learn more about it.

kenkal
04-04-2015, 09:56 PM
Hi Don,
Thanks for your interest in helping. Any thoughts as to how to deep clean (cleaning products and tools required) and also your thoughts regarding repainting fabric wings rather than to remove the old covering and starting brand new?

Jim Hann
04-04-2015, 10:53 PM
Hi Don,
Thanks for your interest in helping. Any thoughts as to how to deep clean (cleaning products and tools required) and also your thoughts regarding repainting fabric wings rather than to remove the old covering and starting brand new?

Al,

I would start with an inspection to see if the fabric is legal. From there I'd get into the logbooks and find out what exactly the finish is on the wings, that will tell you what you should and shouldn't use, including the manufacturer's recommendation (if they are still around.) Failing that, car wash soap and a sponge and water should clean much of the dirt. As to what to repaint it with, that goes back to what is on the wings now and what you are hoping to achieve. I believe Stewart Systems is approved to top coat any existing finish.

Good luck!

Jim

Don January
04-05-2015, 02:24 PM