PDA

View Full Version : Survey For Student Research

scozzd
10-11-2011, 05:25 PM
Hi everyone I'm a design student and for my senior thesis project I'm designing an super lightweight helmet for GA pilots. So I wanted to know how many of you wear helmets when flying. If not what would make you wear one?

Dana
10-11-2011, 05:39 PM
I wear a helmet when flying my ultralight and my ppg. I don't wear one for flying GA aircraft.

scozzd
10-11-2011, 06:14 PM
I wear a helmet when flying my ultralight and my ppg. I don't wear one for flying GA aircraft.

What helmet do you wear for PPG. If you had to wear one for GA what would you like to see in the design? i/e comfort, looks, cool functions?

Bill Greenwood
10-11-2011, 07:02 PM
I wear the David Clark one when flying experimentals because it is light and comfortable. I don't wear one in a normal gen av airplane like my Bonanza, The big heavy military types aren't comfortable to me.

Chick
10-11-2011, 10:05 PM
My LSA is very open. Noise is a problem for hearing and transmitting. I would like one that is light, strong and quiet.

dewi8095
10-12-2011, 05:49 AM
I don't have a helmet, but would like one. There two main reasons that I have not yet bought one: 1. cost, they are expensive; and 2. I have yet to see one that would accommodate my noise cancelling headsets which means I would have to choose a helmet with its own headset incorporated in it.

My preference would be a lightweight helmet with full-face, tinted visor, low cost (under $150), and one that would allow use of the headsets I have (Lightspeed XL 20s).

Dana
10-12-2011, 10:52 AM
What helmet do you wear for PPG. If you had to wear one for GA what would you like to see in the design? i/e comfort, looks, cool functions?