PDA

View Full Version : Trainer Type-Ratings

Caleb AC
06-05-2014, 11:47 AM
Hi everybody, I'm still a relatively new pilot interested in purchasing a training plane, and I was wondering which ones required any specialized endorsements beyond a high-performance, complex, or conventional-geared aircraft rating. I'd also appreciate any advice for purchasing a warbird in general, I love the craft and my first airplane ride was in a Helio Courier, and I'd love any advice you can give me.

Bob H
06-12-2014, 07:37 PM
I think you might be mixing apples and oranges here. A trainer is a plane with simple systems not requiring complex workloads to fly it. Planes like a C-152 or Cherokee 140 are trainers and many do cross country flights in them. They have fixed gear and most are fixed props for simplicity. Because they are simple planes, inspection and maintenance costs are relatively low.
Contrast that with warbirds costing big bucks that require expensive maintenance and high fuel consumption and complex systems. So I can't see a warbird choice anywhere near a trainer.

Jim Clark
06-12-2014, 07:56 PM
Everything I need to know about flying I learned in a J-3. What is it you want to learn Caleb? That will determine the type of aircraft you choose as a "training airplane". If you are already a pilot than a 'learning plane' may be the best choice so what do you want to learn? If it has to have stars and bars on it then get an L-bird.

Jim Klick
06-12-2014, 09:34 PM
Caleb,
I have an Aeronca L-16A, ( military version of a Champ) and it, and the Piper or Taylorcraft versions are
the closest thing to "trainer" "Warbird" you will find at costs far below even T-6 or T-28 levels.
I flew to Oshkosh last year, and wondered if I would be welcomed by the hairy chested, big buck WARBIRD
guys, but as I was told, "It's a Warbird, welcome to the party".
Cost varies widely, but due diligence and research will find something for you.
good luck in your search.

tspear
06-12-2014, 11:28 PM