PDA

View Full Version : Choosing the right one

Sarahsliefie
03-19-2014, 05:18 PM
I have been a Private pilot for two years with 150 hours. but I just can not afford to rent any more and I am moving away form the family hanger. I am looking at getting an ultralight that can get me off the ground. I just want to fly! The only requirement is it must have 2 seats so I can take a friend up for sight seeing. I weigh 170 lb. I have a budget of $8000. So it will be older and used and I do like the idea of experimental as I am a mechanic and am building a Cozy MK IV.

I am leaning Powered parachute as I can drive it to any field. But renting a small hanger is not out of the question. I am looking for 2 things.

1. What would you suggest (fixed wing, PPG, etc)
2. What concerns and problems should I be thinking of when purchasing, training, insuring etc?

dusterpilot
03-19-2014, 06:14 PM