PDA

View Full Version : ADSB workaround

Mike M
01-08-2014, 05:41 AM
www.aircraftspruce.com/catalog/elpages/aspectsolar14.php

ADSB out and xpdr and ongoing system maintenance plus certification compliance = big price tag

ADSB and xpdr not required if aircract does not have electrical system

Electrical system is FAA-defined as generator+electric starter etc

So. If no generator, no ADSB or xpdr installation + maint costs.

Install solar power battery charging system such as in the link instead of generator/altenator, save $$$, still have glass panel gps etc

Opinions?

1600vw
01-08-2014, 06:57 AM
I have been doing this for two years with Harbor freight equipment I purchased at a fraction of the cost of this equipment. I also have no electric system and kept my battery charged for my starter and radio system.

But one can use a wind generator and get the same results its called a Gennipod. This does not fall under the FAA definition as an electrical system for its not engine driven.

http://www.greatplainsas.com/scgennipod.html

FlyingRon
01-08-2014, 07:24 AM
The ADSB requirements mirror the transponder ones. If you're already flying transponder free, you can fly ADSB free.

1600vw
01-08-2014, 07:36 AM
Today we have some really nice batteries and I take advantage of this myself. I have no electric system in my airplane but fly using a TAS. I power this with a Lipo battery. Its a 2650 Mah battery and I have yet to use 400 Mah out of it after flying 1 hr or so. Its a 14.8 volt battery and works great.

Should I worry about fire from this battery? I think so. So this is mounted where I can get to it and chuck it out the canopy if needed. I would have to bank real hard to get it to clear the wing on my low wing, but that is better then burning.

I have used it for about 10 hrs flying and its worked great.