PDA

View Full Version : Should I buy a Sky Cycle?

JeffGilbert
11-13-2013, 05:29 PM
I am a brand-new hang glider pilot with three flights off Lookout Mountain and I'm thinking about what to buy.

Maybe ya'll could tell me if this makes sense:

I'm looking at a nice used Sky Cycle with a Falcon 225 for about $5k. The justification goes something like this:

The nearest hang gliding launch is a couple hours away, but the local county unattended airstrip is just down the road. It would be awesome to fly the Sky Cycle from there. (after I get trained and qualified of course)
I'm 215 pounds and I trained on the Falcon 195. As I understand it, I could also use the Falcon 225 wing as a nice buoyant hang glider to foot launch off the mountain.

I wish I could get a two-place so I could take my sweetie with me, but my budget limits me to part 103 for now.

Thanks,
Jeff

James C
01-07-2014, 06:05 PM
Jeff:

I hope this reply isn't too late for you to take advantage of the deal on that used Sky Cycle. The price doesn’t sound too bad, depending of course on the condition of the trike, motor and wing. Does it also have a chute?