PDA

View Full Version : Schools of Thought on the Flight School

brownsfan11
10-28-2013, 09:33 AM
Hello all,

I'm sure this question has been beat to death in many other threads, but I was hoping to get an answer specific to my situation. I am a student (a financially limited one at that) looking to get into the world of flying. I am not sure if I plan to make a career of it one day, but right now I would just like to earn a basic license. I would be open to just a Sport Pilot License right now while I finish school, but I will eventually want a Private Pilot. After doing some research, I have four options for a flight school in my area. The options are:

Door #1: About 40 minutes from where I live there is a flying club that offers flight lessons. They have reasonable prices, a ground school, several aircraft/instructors, and seem to be a friendly community, but they discourage the Sport Pilot License on their website and require membership to take lessons. Also, the 40 minute drive is a bit of an obstacle if I hope to take lessons frequently.

Door #2: The more traditional flight school "business" at the major airport where I live. The prices are fair and they have a large number instructors and a high turnover of students. Only 25 minutes away, and the only major concern I see is learning how to fly around a busy international airport.

Door #3: 10 minutes from my house is a small paved airstrip with several hangars and planes. There is no flight school offered there, but I could track down a freelance CFI or perhaps find one at the airfield and then study on my own for the written test. This is the wild card, is it a good idea? Anyone done something similar?

Door #4: Finally, 45 minutes away there is a small regional airport with a flight school that offers Sport Pilot training and Private Pilot training. Their prices are the lowest, and I believe their Sport Pilot training would count towards Private Pilot hours.