PDA

View Full Version : Insurance for ultralights

dewi8095
09-13-2013, 03:07 PM
Will the aviation insurers (AOPA, Falcon, Avemco, etc) sell liability and hull insurance on ultralights, or is it common for ultralight owners to fly without any insurance coverage?

sonex293
09-13-2013, 03:45 PM
Ultralight liability insurance is available to USUA members...

http://www.usua.org/Insurance/

==
Michael

Buzz
09-15-2013, 01:15 PM
Ultralight liability insurance is available to USUA members...

Investigate carefully.

I've been flying ultralights for over 30 years. It seems to me that the reason why insurance was ever offered is because some airports required it in the early years. There have been multiple insurance offerings that have come and gone.

I've never met or heard of a ultralight owner that has bought the insurance the numerous times it's been available from various places in the last 30 years.

I can't understand how one would file a claim for hull damage. Who would write the damage estimate? An A&P isn't going to want to work on anything without an N-number. I doubt an insurance company is going to write a check to an owner on their statement about the loss or damage. What reporting body details the loss for a claim? There are not "ultralight accident insurance adjusters" running around.

And what liability does an ultralight create for anyone else? We're not supposed to be over populated areas. Crop damage from an off airport landing? "Causing" another airplane to crash? Who proves it's my fault rather than their fault?

I believe nearly everyone over the years has concluded it's a waste of money unless someone else [like an airport] is mandating you buy a policy.

My thoughts.

-Buzz

1600vw
09-16-2013, 05:30 AM
Investigate carefully.