PDA

View Full Version : Private Pilot SEL and Amphibians

smj58501
06-08-2013, 11:08 AM
Folks... just a quick and possibly dumb question but I have to ask anyways.

I am a Private Pilot SEL. I eventually want to get an SES add on. I am also looking at which homebuilt design I want to go in on - and amphibians are at the top of the list.

So the question is this. Can I fly an amphibian with an SEL rating so long as I always operate it on land? I ask in case I get the aircraft done an with don't complete the SES add on or otherwise decide not to want to operate the aircraft on water. Thx in advance.

Floatsflyer
06-08-2013, 11:50 AM
You pose an interesting question, one I've never heard asked, so I don't have an "official authoritative" answer. However, pure logic dictates you should be able to fly an amphib with an SEL license on land only. But logic may not prevail here because it might be akin to saying I want to fly a twin on a SEL and I promise, warrant and represent that I'll only fly with only one engine operating--this may not be a good analogy.

Question for you. Why would you want an amphib(floats or flying boat) if you aren't 100% committed to getting a float endorsement? Seems like a complete waste of one-half of the airplane's versatility, function, and fun.

If you are unable to get a factual answer here I'd call a flight school or the nearest FAA office and ask for personel licensing.

WLIU
06-08-2013, 01:34 PM