PDA

View Full Version : Free Android GPS app?

JohnSBA
10-12-2012, 02:09 PM
Hi,
I'm a VFR GA pilot who's dreamed of ultralight flying for decades, and still hope to get into it. I have a question for all you lucky ultralight owners and pilots: Do you ever use GPS?

I'm in California helping my friend Zubair who's in Boston, to find testers and get feedback for the free open-source Android aviation app named Avare that he's developing. While the focus of the Avare app is VFR pilots, I wondered if it might also be helpful for ultralight pilots. If anyone here would be willing to answer some questions or offer suggestions, I'll pass your replies on to Zubair who like me is donating his time to the aviation community.

For details on Avare, see the Avare website (http://apps4av.com/avare-overview/) I built and/or do the free Install on the Google Play or Amazon Android store. FYI, the smallest chart Download for just seeing what the Avare chart display looks like is Seward, though getting the chart for your area will enable playing with the moving map and navigation features.

Questions:
1. Would you ever use a moving map GPS on your Android in flight?
2. Would you ever use VFR Sectionals for flight planning or ATC frequencies?
3. Is it helpful to have GPS speed, altitude and ground track in flight?
4. Is there any information on an FAA VFR Sectional chart that's useful for you?

If any of you would like to Install and check out Avare, I'd very much appreciate some hands-on feedback from an ultralight pilot. We hope to eventually add topo charts, street maps, and any other types of free maps we can find. If there are features that would make Avare more useful for ultralight pilots, it's quite possible they could be added in future releases because the app is improving very rapidly. Of course, if you'd like to help with development or getting the word out, that too would be quite welcome. :)

rosiejerryrosie
10-13-2012, 07:37 AM