PDA

View Full Version : 3rd Class Medical Question

johnb
09-10-2012, 02:31 PM
I am an ex-military pilot. After receiving my wings, I took-passed-received an FAA Commerical License with a multi-engine, single engine and instrument ratings and a 3rd class medical. Since I did very little civilian flying while in the service or out-of-service my 3rd class medical went by the wayside. I haven't flown in 36 years. During this time my health has not been the best. I developed diabetes along with some other issues. I am interested in getting back to flying (private/sport#. I have been looking in buying and building an RV-12#E-LSA) due to needing only a drivers-license for a medical. I don't think I can pass a 3rd class medical? Someone told me that before being able to use a drivers-licence as a medical, your last 3rd class medical must not been denied. Is this true? Any help in this matter would be helpful.

regards and thanks
john

FlyingRon
09-10-2012, 02:36 PM
Yes, you are correct. Do NOT apply for a third class if you think there's a chance you won't pass.
Whether you can pass (either outright or with a special issuance) depends on what you mean by "developed diabetes".

Anymouse
09-10-2012, 03:20 PM