PDA

View Full Version : Loans to fly ... help!

pilotgirlbuf
08-28-2012, 12:24 PM
I am a student pilot flying out of 9G3 (akron, ny), and I have fallen into the financial trap that is so easy to do ... I've run out of cash to fly! I am looking to get into school, I've applied at Utah Valley University looking to attend in January, I have had a hard time getting into the fall semester. I've also read into Everglades University in Florida, they have a really great curriculum, but they do not have any flight training.
Couple of questions:
1. Can I attend Evergades and get loans to fly on the side even though they do not support the flight training portion?
2. Can I get loans through Sallie Mae or any other lender BEFORE I actually attend college?

Any tips or help would be great!!!

Sarah :P

FlyingRon
08-28-2012, 02:57 PM
Nobody in their right mind would loan you money to fly other than through an accredited career program.
Even those are highly suspect with some very high profile abuses in the for-profit education markets. Not just ponzi-schemers like Silver State, but for-profit schools have a very high percentage of people not finishing the curriculum and an abysmal record of people actually graduating into jobs. All it does is rack up student loan debts to further burden the student and greedily suck corporate profits out of the tax payer's back.

RV8505
08-28-2012, 06:19 PM
Never mind him darlin! Keep looking, asking and above all trying. The truth is it has never been easy to get a pilots certificate. If you want something bad enough you can get pretty creative.

Jim Heffelfinger
08-28-2012, 11:18 PM
Every year there are $300,000 in available scholarships. Most years a small fraction of that is awarded.
http://www.youngeagles.org/programs/scholarships/

If it burns in the belly - you will fly.

(http://www.youngeagles.org/programs/scholarships/)

redbarron55
08-29-2012, 07:05 AM