PDA

View Full Version : Newbie in Oklahoma looking forward to flying again.

Bryanps71
08-20-2012, 08:48 PM
Hello all:I'm a private pilot and hold a A&P certificate but I haven't flown for 10 years. I'm going to be buying some land and a home in the country soon and I'd love to be able to operate my own UL or LSA from my back yard. Anybody from my local area? (SW OKC) Its been so long since I thought I could afford to fly I almost don't know where/how to get started. What's changed? Any advice would be appreciated and cordial greetings from anyone greatly appreciated. God bless America! Where else can a country boy that only ever dreamed of flying actually operate from his own back yard without being a millionaire?

Dan Grunloh
08-20-2012, 10:46 PM
Hello all:I'm a private pilot and hold a A&P certificate but I haven't flown for 10 years. I'm going to be buying some land and a home in the country soon and I'd love to be able to operate my own UL or LSA from my back yard. Anybody from my local area? (SW OKC) Its been so long since I thought I could afford to fly I almost don't know where/how to get started. What's changed? Any advice would be appreciated and cordial greetings from anyone greatly appreciated. God bless America! Where else can a country boy that only ever dreamed of flying actually operate from his own back yard without being a millionaire?

I have been flying from a strip on my farm for 14 years and I have been retired the last 10 years. There is nothing better than having your airplane 3 minutes from your front door. Usually no problem if land is zoned agriculture. Some states require that N-numbered aircraft be operated only from registered private airstrips that meet minimum clearance and size requirements. Illinois is one such state but it is rarely enforced unless you are flying conventional GA planes out of the cow pasture.

Bryanps71
08-20-2012, 11:04 PM