PDA

View Full Version : Good morning from a Brit, who'll soon be making a pilgrimage to AirVenture 2012

The Cameraman
07-09-2012, 11:45 PM
Good morning Ladies & Gentlemen,

I've been dreaming of this moment for many of my 50 years on this planet and the day will soon be here!

Due to my personal working situation (a nice way of saying 'I don't get paid much'), the cost of travel to the US have been beyond my budget but two years ago I started saving any spare funds that came my way. I also stopped attending UK and European Air Shows and put aside the average costs that I would have spent over such weekends. Other weekend activities were stopped, including my much loved camping weekends on my trusty Yamaha XT225, all to ensure that I get to Oshkosh.

Afterall, you're only 50 once, so my present to myself is a trip to AirVenture 2012.

Digital camera's have been cleaned, extra memory cards purchased, batteries charged, and I'm raring to go!

I'll be staying with my greatest friend from school days, Ste Owen (a well known figure on his scooter around the twin parking area) and aim to 'pack in' as much as I can into my stay.

Being a float plane nut, I'll be using the bus service to commute twixt the airfield and the water base, after helping out as a volunteer.

To say I'm a little excited is somewhat of an understatement. I can't wait to get there.

So it's a big hello to everyone on the website.

Kind regards

Stuart (Reggie) Martindale

Janet Davidson
07-10-2012, 03:32 AM
You're staying with Steve O? :rollseyes: You're a braver man than most.....

Inspector Fenwick
07-10-2012, 11:26 AM
Reggie, I assume you will venture over to the Seaplane base. Very serene place to "sit a bit". Now, if you are wandering around the Vintage area, stop at a grey and white Cessna 195 and enjoy a COLD beer.

The Cameraman
07-10-2012, 11:51 AM
You're staying with Steve O? :rollseyes: You're a braver man than most.....

Hi Janet,

I taught him all he knows!

God help us all.

Regards