PDA

View Full Version : Light Sport Tailwheel endorsement

dsherburn
06-30-2012, 09:58 AM
Can I get my Tailwheel endorsement without a third class medical?

I'm an instrument rated private pilot, but haven't flown in 10 years (or had a third class). I just purchased a Taylorcraft (light sport) and will have it flying next Spring. I plan to fly under Light Sport rules on my drivers license and don't plan to pursue a third class medical.

If I can find a TW instructor and light sport plane (J3), can I get an endorsement without getting a third class medical?

I'm in Michigan...anyone know of a J3 and instructor available in Mich or Wisconsin?

Thanks,
Dan

martymayes
06-30-2012, 02:01 PM
I'm in Michigan...anyone know of a J3 and instructor available in Mich or Wisconsin?

Dan, don't know where you are in MI but Skywalker in Adrian/Lenawee County airport has a Taylorcraft for rent/training. The airplane is $75/hr and I don't know the instructor rates.

steveinindy
06-30-2012, 03:20 PM
If I can find a TW instructor and light sport plane (J3), can I get an endorsement without getting a third class medical?

Thanks,
Dan

There used to be a guy who gave instruction in a Cub (or something really similar) in the Saginaw area when I lived in the area (circa 2008). I think it was actually based out of Barstow airport over in Midland though. You might try checking there or Brown Airport in Saginaw if you're close. I recall seeing it frequently at both locations while I was doing flight training up there but I wasn't paying much attention to the guy who owned it since I had no interest at the time in tailwheels.

Also, there were a fair number of taildraggers at the little airport in Bay City as well so that might be an additional starting point for you too. I hope this helps.

FlyingRon
06-30-2012, 03:27 PM