PDA

View Full Version : When to arrive at Camp Scholler to camp EAST of Doolittle?

glider90
06-22-2012, 02:44 PM
I have been camping at Oshkosh at Camp Scholler since 1972 (when I was nine months old). Back then we would come up about four or five days before the start and camp where exhibit building "B" now sits. Heck back then even the woods were partially open that late I think. More recently we have been arriving the Saturday before the start, and have basically been camping on 41. More people come up early, and the campgrounds have been absorbed for other uses. All part of change, and I understand it.
This year I am bringing my young family, and would like to camp closer to the action. Does anyone know how soon one need to arrive to tent camp EAST of Doolittle? The area in particular I am hoping for is shown in the red box on the attached image. We plan on getting to OSH Tuesday before the show the 21st ***EDIT, Tuesday the 17th, thanks Sawdust***, the , so six days before open), anyone know from recent experience how well I can hope to fare?
Thanks
~Jim

Sawdust
06-22-2012, 03:06 PM
Great Question. But one clarification - opening day is the 23rd, so the 21st (Sunday) is only two days before open. If you're arriving the Tuesday before, that's the 17th. Assuming that's what you mean?

Last year I arrived two days before (Saturday evening) and the best I could do was 17th at Elm. I'm planning to arrive the morning of the 21st (Saturday before opening), and hoping to end up East of Stits.

I think a lot depends on attendance each year, and how big a space you need. When we arrived last year, there were some very small spaces open closer, but not big enough for our large tent, canopy, grill, and vehicle.

Would love to hear from some of the experienced campers how early you have to arrive to get a decent spot in your red box area.

Gently56
06-22-2012, 06:58 PM