PDA

View Full Version : ultralight for spam-can pilot

Bob from Alabama
06-21-2012, 07:40 AM
I've been flying a 172 for a long time and a Stinson before that, so at least I have tailwheel time. I've been thinking about a 103-legal UL for a long time, something to fly local when the winds are low. I like the mini-max for the conventional/tractor setup and the fact that so many are flying. I'm worried about the handling being so different than what I'm used to especially with sudden loss of power. Are there other models I should be looking at? I know an UL will not handle like a cessna, good thing, but I know some are less "conventional" than others. I'd also like to stay with fairly common models for parts/support. May elect to build but will probably buy a completed aircraft. And would consider registered/LSA model but trying to stay low-cost.

Bob

steveinindy
06-21-2012, 08:04 AM
As a former UL pilot myself, I'll ask you the same first question one of my friends asks someone when they call him about getting started in ultralights: "How much do you weigh?" A lot of folks in modern day America are ill-suited to fly ultralights simply because of their own mass. That may be the biggest thing (no pun intended) that makes an LSA a better option.

Racegunz
06-21-2012, 10:36 AM
(My opinion here) the biggest handling difference will be in the flare for landing, the typical UL is high drag with LOTS of parasitic drag so the flare must be made spot on or you must carry some power to let the craft settle, if you don't it will drop in and the construction being light will bend /break ect.

malexander
06-21-2012, 03:14 PM