PDA

View Full Version : Mid Week Arrival Timing?

cheemsaf
05-21-2012, 04:33 PM
Howdy, this is my first time to OSH in nearly fifteen years, and my first time attempting to fly-in. I can not wait!! I say 'attempting' to fly-in because I'm not sure what the best day would be to arrive after the show starts. I'd like to show on Wednesday or Thursday and leave Sunday. Does anyone have past experiences when the best times to arrive are, or where I can find that info? I read over the NOTAM and the webpage (and searched the forum a little), but specifics are hard to come by. Also, does anyone know where most of the Lancairs park, I'm assuming in the homebuilt camping? Thanks in advance for a newbie question.

FlyingRon
05-21-2012, 05:11 PM
There are separate areas for homebuilt parking and homebuilt camping. It looks to me that they do a pretty good job trying to locate the similar aircraft together. My recommendation is to try to get in well before the afternoon airshow or shoot for the window between 7 and 8 in the evening. The airport is shutdown for the airshow (typically 3-6 or so) but 18-36 and taxiway papa often gets closed down earlier if they've got some sort of demonstration flight going on before the airshow that merits it. Not much (if any) advance notice is given.

I would think that Wednesday and Thursday are pretty good days to try for. There are people who stay over the previous weekend and start pulling out by midweek. (Unlike people like us who arrive before the show starts and will leave the Monday after it shuts down).

Kyle Boatright
05-21-2012, 06:37 PM
The evening window is TOUGH and stressful. It is a small window and subject to all sorts of issues from weather delays to large volumes of departing aircraft.

I've gotten in during that window twice, but both times delays made it touch and go whether I/we were gonna get in before they closed the field for the evening.