PDA

View Full Version : 2012 IAC Sportsman Practice

AcroGimp
05-21-2012, 11:17 AM
http://youtu.be/WN3h7FNs67U

My latest practice session in the Extra 300L. I am new to aerobatics, now having about 4-4.5 hrs of acro, and 7 hrs in the Extra. Still working to get it all to click at the same time. Registered for Redlands and Delano later this year.

Absolutely love it.

RetroAcro
05-22-2012, 09:25 AM
Cool video. Good luck in your first contest at Delano! Looks like you're doing great for only a few hours in. I might offer a few suggestions regarding where to look and when, while flying the figures. This is something that is not always stressed, but can make a huge difference as you're developing habits that will stay with you for a long time, and will be hard to change once ingrained. Developing a good pattern of looking in the right places at the right time is something that will provide a good foundation for precision as you increase the level of difficulty and complexity.

Pulling to vertical - On your level lines before pulling up, you're looking at the left wingtip before you start your pull. I would suggest looking straight ahead before pullling, and only looking at the wingtip after the horizon disappears under the nose. IMO, when looking foward, you can better monitor the squareness of your pull (on heading and not dragging a wing or applying aileron in one direction). IMO, you're more likely to pull a little crooked when looking at the wingtip before pulling. Use your peripheral vision to make sure the wings are level with the horizon just before the horizon disappears. Then transition to the wingtip to pick up your pitch attitude. Also learn where the wingtip must be placed on the horizon to ensure the fuselage is perfectly vertical in yaw as you approach the vertical attitude. Getting in the habit of being precise with your pulls to vertical will really help you when you progress to doing vertical rolls.