PDA

View Full Version : Earning PPL in a Light Sport Airplane ?

douglasw608
03-13-2012, 12:24 PM
I am new to the EAA and have not yet started any training , although I have been a life-long flying enthusiast . As I get nearer retirement I am considering the purchase of a used Sonex light sport airplane to obtain SP license. My 14yo son would like to be a professional pilot for a career. My question is , can he earn a private pilot license in a light sport airplane and build time from there? (with the properly licensed instructor of course!) If this plane was equipped for IR flight rules , could he also use it for obtaining the insturment rating ? Commercial ticket ? Seems that we could save considerable expense by owning one plane to be used by two people , rather than renting 152/172 etc. ( I like the Sonex for its' popularity, Wis mfg, cool looks, superb engineering and the wings remove to hanger in our garage, saving more !)
Any thoughts on this idea ?

jedi
03-13-2012, 01:25 PM
You have a good plan go with it. You can start with a VFR basic aircraft and when the time comes for the IFR training add the required instruments and radios. On the initial build be sure to include the necessary equipment for night flight. There are awsum LEDs available. Your Sport Pilot instructor needs to be a full CFI for the sport pilot training to count towards PPL and the commercial and instrument training. Where are you located?

Mike M
03-13-2012, 03:26 PM
...SP license...properly licensed instructor...to hanger in our garage

what's a PPL? SP license? licensed instructor? hanger in garage? do you by chance mean a private pilot certificate? sport pilot certificate? hangar?