PDA

View Full Version : Cutting .063 4130?

Jim Hann
12-27-2011, 03:32 AM
Hey folks,

I'm primarily a wood builder but I need to cut some brackets, etc. out of .063 steel. I don't have anything beyond a hacksaw right now. I was hoping to get an angle grinder from Harbor Freight to do the little cutting I need. What say ye of more knowledge? Down the road I might need to cut some .125 also, but that isn't on the radar for now.

Thanks!

Jim
PS, HF link: http://www.harborfreight.com/catalogsearch/result?keyword=4-1%2F2"+angle+grinder

Jack
12-27-2011, 07:48 AM
Jim,
An angle grinder will work but you will have a lot of waste due to the thick blade. A small air powered angle grinder with a cut off wheel will due a better job. Not a big fan of HF but here is one. http://www.harborfreight.com/3-inch-high-speed-air-cutter-47077.html Use your own judgement with the Chinese discs, I only use the US made.

I prefer a plazma cutter for everything but the simplest of cuts.

Jack

Chad Jensen
12-27-2011, 09:00 AM
I am a fan of Harbor Freight...that being said, take Jack's advise to NOT use the Chinese discs. The tool itself will do the trick just fine, and will more than likely last you the length of your build.

Mike Switzer
12-27-2011, 10:27 AM
I prefer a plazma cutter for everything but the simplest of cuts.

I agree, but they are pricy if you won't be using it a lot. I paid over $1200 for mine back in 1999, but I use it quite a bit for auto body work. It also came in real handy for trimming the ends off all the steel studs for my apartment/office/shop that were a bit long.

Tom Downey
12-27-2011, 10:30 AM
get a pack of metal cutting blades for your jig saw go slow

http://www.grizzly.com/products/VS-Jigsaw-President-s-Special-/G8994Z

c (http://www.grizzly.com/products/VS-Jigsaw-President-s-Special-/G8994Z)ut big, shape on your belt sander.

LJM
12-27-2011, 02:33 PM